

North Dakota Insurance Department

Adam W. Hamm, Commissioner

BULLETIN 2011-1

TO: All Insurance Companies Licensed in North Dakota

FROM: Adam Hamm, Commissioner

DATE: June 8, 2011

SUBJECT: Insurer Alert – Federal Disaster

On May 10, 2011, President Obama approved Governor Jack Dalrymple's Emergency Disaster Declaration Request for the State of North Dakota. As a result, 42 counties in the State of North Dakota have now been declared a federal disaster area. Based on that declaration, the North Dakota Insurance Commissioner offers the following guidance for all licensees:

Claims Handling

- North Dakota law requires the prompt investigation of all claims including investigation of the causation of loss to ascertain if coverage exists on a claimby-claim basis.
- Insurers have a duty to properly investigate all claims to ascertain if coverage exists, including the applicability of policy provisions such as sump pump and water backup endorsements.
- In cases in which an insurer is denying a claim, the insurer must provide proper documentation to the insured to allow the insured to apply for any applicable federal disaster assistance.
- The Department expects insurers to work with claimants who have been displaced from homes or businesses and are unable to meet reporting timelines as specified in insurance policies.
- Insurers should establish expedited claim processing procedures and simplified claim reporting forms where appropriate.

Bulletin 2011-1 June 8, 2011 Page Two

Premium Payments and Vacancy Provisions

- The North Dakota Insurance Commissioner encourages all insurers operating in North Dakota to provide prompt and immediate relief to those policyholders impacted by the disaster, including the temporary suspension of premium payments and suspension of vacancy provisions for those temporarily displaced.
- The Department will work with insurers to minimize the regulatory effects of an insurer's suspension of premium payments, specifically in regard to financial review requirements.
- The term "suspension" is not intended to mean forgiveness of the premium; rather, it refers to an extended grace period for the payment of premium.
- Insurers are also encouraged to work with policyholders impacted by the disaster with regard to the collection of premiums, including granting requests for reasonable payment plans.

Underwriting

- It is not appropriate for insurers to re-rate, cancel, nonrenew, or refuse to provide insurance coverage due solely to an individual's status as a victim or evacuee of this disaster.
- It is not reasonable to change policyholders' rating classifications or increase their insurance rates solely because they are a victim or evacuee of this disaster.

If you have questions regarding this bulletin, please contact Kathy Wolf at the North Dakota Insurance Department at (701) 328-2440.

AH/njb



Please be advised that Bulletin 2011-1 is in effect until the Department issues a separate Bulletin deeming 2011-1 inactive.

Disaster declaration

As of June 10, 2011, North Dakota's 2011 disaster declaration is comprised of 42 counties and three reservations.

The counties listed in the disaster declaration are:

County	ZIP codes		
Barnes	58031, 58049, 58062, 58063, 58065, 58072, 58429, 58461, 58479, 58480, 58481, 58492		
Benson	58332, 58335, 58343, 58346, 58348, 58351, 58357, 58370, 58379, 58381, 58386		
Billings	58627, 58645		
Bottineau	58318, 58384, 58711, 58748, 58750, 58760, 58762, 58783, 58793		
Burke	58721, 58727, 58737, 58752, 58772, 58773		
Burleigh	58477, 58494, 58501, 58502, 58503, 58504, 58505, 58506, 58507, 58521, 58532, 58558, 58560, 58572		
Cass	58002, 58004, 58005, 58006, 58007, 58011, 58012, 58021, 58029, 58036, 58038, 58042, 58047,		
	58048, 58051, 58052, 58059, 58064, 58071, 58078, 58079, 58102, 58103, 58104, 58105, 58106,		
	58107, 58108, 58109, 58121, 58122, 58124, 58125, 58126		
Cavalier	58311, 58352, 58323, 58352, 58249, 58239, 58249, 58311, 58255, 58260, 58249, 58352, 58355,		
	58269, 58372, 58260, 58269, 58281		
Dickey	58436, 58439, 58441, 58474		
Divide	58730, 58765, 58833, 58844		
Eddy	58356, 58374		
Foster	58421, 58443, 58445, 58464		
Grand Forks	58201, 58202, 58203, 58204, 58205, 58206, 58207, 58208, 58208, 58214, 58228, 58235, 58224,		
	58251, 58256, 58258, 58266, 58267, 58275, 58278		
Grant	58529, 58533, 58562, 58564, 58569		
Griggs	58416, 58425, 58448, 58452, 58484		
Kidder	58428, 58475, 58478, 58482, 58487, 58488		
LaMoure	58415, 58431, 58433, 58454, 58456, 58458, 58466, 58490		
Logan	58440, 58442, 58561		
McHenry	58710, 58712, 58713, 58731, 58736, 58741, 58744, 58768, 58788, 58789, 58790, 58792		
McIntosh	58413, 58460, 58495, 58581		
McLean	58531, 58540, 58559, 58565, 58575, 58576, 58577, 58579, 58716, 58723, 58759, 58775, 58778		
Mercer	58523, 58541, 58545, 58571, 58580		
Morton	58520, 58535, 58554, 58563, 58566, 58631, 58638		
Mountrail	58763, 58769, 58770, 58771, 58776, 58784, 58794		
Nelson	58212, 58224, 58254, 58259, 58272, 58344, 58361, 58380		
Pembina	58216, 58220, 58222, 58225, 58236, 58238, 58241, 58262, 58265, 58271, 58276, 58282		
Pierce	58313, 58368, 58385		
Ramsey	58301, 58321, 58325, 58327, 58330, 58338, 58345, 58362, 58377, 58382		
Ransom	58027, 58033, 58054, 58068		
Renville	58740, 58761, 58782, 58787		

Richland	58001, 58008, 58015, 58018, 58030, 58041, 58053, 58057, 58058, 58061, 58074, 58075, 58076,	
	58077, 58081	
Rolette	58310, 58316, 58329, 58353, 58366, 58367, 58369	
Sargent	58013, 58017, 58032, 58040, 58043, 58060, 58067, 58069	
Sheridan	58430, 58444, 58463, 58758	
Steele	58046, 58056, 58230, 58277	
Stutsman	58401, 58402, 58405, 58420, 58424, 58426, 58455, 58467, 58472, 58476, 58483, 58496, 58497	
Towner	58317, 58324, 58331, 58339, 58363, 58365	
Traill	58009, 58016, 58035, 58045, 58218, 58219, 58223, 58240, 58257, 58274	
Walsh	58210, 58227, 58229, 58231, 58233, 58237, 58243, 58250, 58261, 58270, 58273	
Ward	58701, 58702, 58703, 58704, 58705, 58707, 58718, 58722, 58725, 58733, 58734, 58735, 58746,	
	58756, 58779, 58781, 58785	
Wells	58341, 58418, 58422, 58423, 58438, 58451, 58486	
Williams	58755, 58795, 58801, 58802, 58830, 58843, 58845, 58849, 58852, 58853, 58856	

The reservations listed in the disaster declaration are:

Reservation	ZIP codes
Spirit Lake Nation (Devils Lake area)*	58379, 58355, 58357, 58381, 58370, 58374
Three Affiliated Tribes (New Town area)*	58636, 58757, 58763, 58770, 58775, 58779
Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa (Belcourt area)*	58316, 58329, 58366, 58367, 58369

*Policyholders may live on the reservation and have an address within one of these ZIP codes; however, not all residents within these ZIP codes live on the reservation.